Friday, May 29, 2009

FC Barcelona vs Manchester united


We needed some booze. And in a hurry, it was not easy to find in old Marrakesh, but it was available in one hotel. Morocco although 98% Islamic, in not an Islamic state, therefore Alcohol in not prohibited, just frowned upon.
The Cinema was packed with mostly FC Barcelona fans. Man U had a following to. Donning a FC Barca jersey was a good thing. Barca scored (Samuel E`to) 10mins into the match and the cinema went mad. It was insane people were lighting flares in the cinema! The Moroccans were just crazy.
After a great first half, Barca (Lionel Messi) scored in the 70th minute to seal the deal. The cinema went berserk!! A great time was had by all, not as much for the two British chaps that I watched the game with but , they enjoyed the experience.
Celebrations are absolutely necessary in times like these. But food was first! When I walked into the food area of the square wearing a Barca Jersey, one vendor yelled BARCA,BARCA! Samuel E`to! And the place erupted everyone was cheering and clapping for me, as if I played in the game. But hey I took it....After eats, We headed strait back to the Hostel to freshen up for the imminently long night ahead of us. By the time we were ready to step out I was down one Brit, Mike had to be up early so we said our goodbyes.

I found some more Brits! Sarah and Kate joined us as we headed into Guilez (new Marrakesh),
and hit up a few places like African Chic (Had some Terrible Moroccan wine)which was overly tacky but some how fit, and Diamond Noir with was a nice spot but like the previous place had a lot of prostitutes. The stroll back was good for all of us, Seeing Djemaa El Fna at late night was nice. Although we took the rubbish entrance back as directed by Sarah, the smell was rancid.
but it was peaceful in the square as a few locals gathered for some foolery....

This was a perfect day In Marrakesh...time to put it to rest.